APC Kogi Jubilation as Supreme Court upholds Governor Yahaya Bello’s election

APC Kogi Jubilation as Supreme Court upholds Governor Yahaya Bello's election

The Supreme Court sitting in Abuja, on Monday upheld the election of Kogi State Governor, Yahaya Bello in the last governorship in the state.

APC Kogi Jubilation as Supreme Court upholds Governor Yahaya Bello's election

According to Justice Uwan Abba Aji, said, the case was overseen by a seven-man panel, led by Justice Ibrahim Mohammad(CJN), who dismissed the case filed against the seating governor, Yahaya Bello.

The case struck out first was the case filed by the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and its candidate in the November 16, 2019 governorship election in the state, Musa Wada. While, the second case filed by the Social Democratic Party (SDP) and its candidate, Natasha Akpoti.

The was read by Justice Abba Aji, the court resolved the five issues identified for determination against the PDP and Wada.

It held that the appellants were wrong to have claimed that the Court of Appeal denied them a fair hearing and that it determined their appeal on issues it raised on its own volition.

APC Kogi Jubilation as Supreme Court upholds Governor Yahaya Bello's election

The apex court also held that, as against the claim by the appellants, the Court of Appeal merely arrived at its conclusion that the forensic expert called by the PDP and Wada at the tribunal (PW19) was not a dactylographer from records of proceedings.

READ ALSO: BREAKING: Oshiomhole Meets With President Buhari Over Edo Guber Election

It upheld the position of the lower court on the issue.

The lead judgment in the appeal by the SDP and Akpoti was authored by Justice Abba Aji, who also read it yesterday.

In dismissing the appeal, the court resolved the two issues identified for determination against the appellants.

The court held that the appellants failed to prove their claims that Bello and his running mate were not qualified to have stood for election and that they made false claims about their qualifications to the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

The court awarded no cost to any party to the two appeals. Besides Justice Muhammad (the CJN), Justices Okoro and Abba Aji, other members of the panel were: Justices Olabode Rhodes-Vivour, Sylvester Ngwuta, Kudirat Kekere-Ekun and Amina Augie.

The ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) yesterday congratulated Governor Bello on his Supreme Court victory.

In a statement in Abuja by its Deputy National Publicity Secretary, Yekini Nabena, the party said: “This victory will definitely buoy Governor Bello to focus on his administration’s commendable effort to ensure peace and guarantee security for the people of the state. Kogi State under Governor Bello is already one of the frontline states leading the agricultural revolution.”

The Northern Governors Forum (NGF) also congratulated Governor Bello on his election victory at the apex court.

A statement in Jos by the forum’s chairman and Plateau State Governor Simon Bako Lalong said: “The Supreme Court judgment affirming your election victory gives you an opportunity to settle down to serve your people and fulfill their aspirations without any distraction.”

Osun State Governor Adegboyega Oyetola congratulated Bello, saying: “This is indeed a victory for democracy and the good people of Kogi State who freely gave Governor Bello the mandate to govern them for another term. This will also serve as a boost for the governor to continue to deliver dividends of democracy to his people.”

Main opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) expressed shock over the Supreme Court verdict.

According to PDP spokeman, Kola Ologbondiyan said: “Indeed, the judgment had not inspired hope in our national quest to ensure that our elections are violence-free as well as deter unpatriotic individuals, who resort to violence and killing, to gain access to power, as heavily witnessed in the Kogi election.”

“However, as a law-abiding party, we call on the people of Kogi State and Nigerians at large, to remain calm, yet undeterred in their quest for the entrenchment of credible electoral process in our country.”

%d bloggers like this: